WEST HARTFORD — The Connecticut Association for the Gifted has announced that West Hartford first grade teacher Lisa Kropp has been named the Connecticut Association for the Gifted 2019 Educator of the Year. Kropp will be honored at an awards ceremony during CAG’s annual dinner at the Riverview Bistro, 946 Ferry Boulevard, Stratford, on May 21.

CAG’s annual ‘Educator of the Year’ award recognizes a teacher or administrator who has gone above and beyond in the lives of gifted children. This year’s awardee is Lisa Kropp of Wolcott Elementary School in West Hartford. Kropp was nominated by Catherine Little, PhD, a professor of Educational Psychology at the University of Connecticut and director of Project SPARK.

In nominating Kropp, Little wrote “Lisa Kropp has been a strong teacher and leader in the implementation of UConn’s Project SPARK in her West Hartford school for the past five years. Showing a deep concern for students exhibiting early academic potential, Lisa has honed her ability to meet their needs through her professional learning pursuits. She consistently uses best practices for gifted (and all) students in her classroom and acts as a mentor for other teachers.”

Wolcott Elementary School principal Scott Dunn said he is “proud to work with such a dedicated educator like Lisa.”

Interested persons may register for the dinner and awards ceremony by visiting www.ctgifted.org[1].

The Connecticut Association for the Gifted, is a 501(c)3, Nonprofit Organization founded in 1969. CAG provides parents with information and resources to benefit their talented children, educators with high quality professional development, and Boards of Education with the tools to support talented students. Our highly acclaimed Minds in Motion programs engage hundreds of Connecticut students in high interest, interactive courses which stimulate learning. CAG meets with legislators to advocate for legislation to provide high ability students with challenging curriculum. Visit www.ctgifted.org[1], for more information.

Connecticut Media Group