The Red Sox won the West Hartford Babe Ruth title by defeating the Pirates.

The championship game of the West Hartford Babe Ruth League was played on July 8th at Conard High School. The Red Sox won their second consecutive championship by defeating the Pirates by a score of 6-0

Both teams played excellent baseball, but the Red Sox got the best of the Pirates with stellar pitching, timely hitting, aggressive base running and nearly flawless defense.

Brian Kenna pitched the entire game for the Red Sox, giving up just three hits in his seven inning effort. Gilbert Rodriguez and Zander Boehm collected two hits each, Josh Wolmer and Jake Rosenkranz had one hit apiece, while Jack Navin and Michael Neff each walked twice.

Defensively, Zack Martin and Will Carpenter each made potential run saving plays in the field, while Desmond Nigol-Mason, Will Perez, Abe Dunn, Quinn Spada and Matthew Scobbo were all solid in their defensive positions.

For the Pirates, Mack Phillips started on the mound and pitched well for 5 innings, allowing just 5 hits. Ben Giroux came in in relief and allowed just 1 hit and no runs in an inning of work.

Offensively, Nathan White, Ben Giroux, Mack Phillips and Michael Francalangia all collected hits. AJ Guevara, Andrew Gingold, Jason Bruzon, Andrew Mazzato, Matthew Fitzsimonds, Liam Knapp, Joe Shuey and Nick Iaiennaro all played well defensively. Dylan Heinen, Elias Heinen, and Luke Gfeller were absent from the game.

A short trophy presentation and player recognition ceremony followed the game.